News Archives

2011 News

November 21, 2011 - Chew gum; lose weight
In a groundbreaking new study, Prof. Robert Doyle's and his group have demonstrated, for the first time, that a critical hormone, PYY, that helps people feel "full" after eating can be delivered into the bloodstream orally. » complete news story

November 3, 2011 - Chakraborty Awarded NSF Grant
Prof. Arindam Chakraborty, Prof. Radhakrishna Sureshkumar (Department of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering) and Prof. Steve Chapin (Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) have been awarded an NSF grant for their proposal entitled "Scientific Exploration through Simulation."

October 24, 2011 - Attacking Cancer Cells with Nanoparticles
Prof. James Dabrowiak and Prof. Mathew Maye, along with graduate student Colleen Alexander, develop a revolutionary idea for a molecular drug delivery system by attaching chemotherapy drug molecules to gold nanoparticles. The work was recently featured in the Journal of the National Cancer Institutes. » complete news story

October 21, 2011 - Chisholm Awarded NIH Grant
Prof. John Chisholm and Prof. William Kerr (SUNY Upstate Medical University, courtesy in Syracuse Chemistry) have been awarded an NIH grant for their proposal entitled "Role of SHIP in NK Cell Biology." This is the second NIH grant for the Chisholm/Kerr collaboration, following the awarding of "Chemical Inhibition of SHIP1 to Facilitate Allogeneic Bone Marrow Transplantation" in January.

October 14, 2011 - Luk Awarded NSF Grant
Along with Principal Investigator Dacheng Ren, and co-PI's Rebecca Bader, Radhakrishan Sureshkumar, Roy Welch and Shikha Nangia, Prof. Yan-Yeung Luk has been awarded an NSF grant for the project titled "Deciphering and Controlling the Signaling Processes in Bacterial Multicellular Systems and Bacteria-Host Interactions: EFRI-MIKS."

September 22, 2011 - Maye Awarded ACS-PRF Grant
Prof. Mathew Maye is the recipient of a prestigious American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund (ACS-PRF) new investigator grant. The award will provide $100,000 over the next two years to support the Maye group's investigation into the synthesis of nanocrystalline semiconductive quantum dots and the study of the materials integration into dye sensitized solar cells.

September 20, 2011 - Totah Awarded NSF Grant
Prof. Nancy I. Totah has been awarded an NSF grant for her proposal entitled "New Methods for Natural Product Synthesis". The grant focuses on the development of new carbon-carbon bond forming reactions of exocyclic enol ethers.

September 15, 2011 - NSF Awards University $3 Million IGERT Award
The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded Syracuse University $3 million over the next five years to develop an Integrative Graduate Education and Research Training Program (IGERT) in Soft Interfaces. The program is a collaborative effort of The College of Arts and Sciences and the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science and will take advantage of expertise from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications and the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs. Cristina Marchetti, the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Physics in The College of Arts and Sciences is the principal investigator on the grant. Co-principal investigators are Patrick Mather (Biomedical and Chemical Engineering; Syracuse Biomaterials Institute); Alan Middleton (Physics); Dacheng Ren (Chemical Engineering); and Karin Ruhlandt-Senge (Chemistry). » complete news story

September 15, 2011 - Ruhlandt and Zubieta Awarded NSF Grant

Distinguished Professors Karin Ruhlandt and Jon Zubieta have been awarded an NSF grant for their proposal entitled "Acquisition of single crystal X-ray diffraction equipment at Syracuse University."

May 16, 2011 - Doyle Receives Outstanding Faculty Award
Prof. Robert Doyle is the recipient of the 2011 James K. Duah-Agyeman Award for Outstanding Faculty, which was presented at the Center for Graduate Preparation and Achievement (CGPA) Baccalaureate Ceremony. The award was established by the CGPA, and is given in recognition of outstanding faculty of the Syracuse community who fully embrace the mission and vision of the center through collaborative programming initiatives and service.

May 4, 2011 - Department Award Winners
Congratulations to those undergraduate and graduate students who were honored with a Department of Chemistry Award at our May 4th ceremony. Awards are given for performance in course work, research, and for excellence in graduate student teaching.

April 13, 2011 - Biochemistry Students win NSF Fellowships
Biochemistry Seniors, Nathaniel Miska and Qi Li, are recipients of prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships to fund their graduate work. The Fellowship provides a three year stipend of $30,000 per year for each student. Qi Li, who performs research in the lab of Prof. Robert Doyle, will be joining the interdisciplinary program of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at Caltech. Nate will be studying Neuroscience, but is still in the process of deciding where he will attend school. He does research on nanomaterials in the lab of Prof. Mathew Maye.

March 23, 2011 - New technique using light to predict molecular crystal structures
Prof. Tim Korter and his research team have developed a way to use very low frequency light waves to study the weak forces (London dispersion forces) that hold molecules together in a crystal. This fundamental research could be applied to solve critical problems in drug research, manufacturing, and quality control. The research was the cover article of the March 14, 2011 issue of Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics» complete news story

March 22, 2011 - New drug delivery system to improve cancer treatment
The research teams of Prof. James Dabrowiak and Prof. Mathew Maye have created a new drug delivery system expected to advance the effectiveness of cancer-killing drugs. It uses gold nanoparticles with attached DNA that binds to a proven anti-cancer drug, Doxorubicin or DOX. The work was published in a February 2011 volume ofChemComm.
» complete news story

February 3, 2011 - Maye part of team that wins Inaugural Gordon Battelle Prize
Prof. Mathew Maye was a member of a team of researchers from the U.S. Department of Energy's Brookhaven National Laboratory that won the Inaugural Gordon Battelle Prize for Scientific Discovery and Technology Impact. The research team won the prize for discovering a new way to use a synthetic form of DNA to control the assembly of nanoparticles. The prizes were announced Feb. 1. » complete news story